The Foundation for Excellence in Yorktown Education was founded in 1993 to award grants to educators for developing timely, innovative & creative projects that enrich the educational process of the Yorktown Central School District. The Foundation is a qualified 501(c) (3) not for profit organization. The Foundation is an autonomous organization existing solely to benefit the students of the Yorktown Central School District and is comprised of parents & teachers within the district.

Educators in all five Yorktown public schools are eligible to submit grant applications annually. Grants are awarded competitively based upon quality and educational components and are unfunded within the budget. Projects funded address academic, developmental and social issues specific to the desire and needs in the Yorktown Central School District. Board approval is required for final grant distribution.

The Foundation sponsors a series of fundraising campaigns throughout the year receiving donations from corporations, local business and individuals. Every contribution made is an investment in our children, assuring that the future of our community remains bright and stable.


Executive Board

Christine Menocal – President
Christine Dunn – Vice President
Laura Plitnick – Treasurer
Jenny Brown – Secretary


Joann Baker
Shari Besterman
Stacie Boylan
Lisa Branca
Caroline Cappa
Joanna Cusack
Tricy Cushner
Jane DeCoursey
Meredith DelBene
Kristen Diguglielmo
Ron Fedele
Elizabeth Garti
Sara Hanley
Lydia Loudig
Andrea Ralls
Maria Rohle
Isabel Weissman

Leave a Reply